EKS Performance AB applies cookies to secure an optimal use. With the further use of this website you accept the application of cookies. More Information

#eksrx       #welovequattro


Empty-handed in Hell

Mattias made a flying start around the rollercoaster track in Norway. Despite torrential rain, he coped the best with the slippery track at the wheel of the Audi S1 EKS RX quattro, and led the overall classification after the first day. “I was a little surprised that we were so fast in the wet, but that was quattro weather,” joked Mattias after the final. “In the dry conditions on Sunday, we struggled again to match the pace of the competition. In the final we lost crucial ground right at the start. This was our own mistake and this ultimately cost us the podium finish.” Although we leave Norway without a trophy, Mattias still scored 23 important points for the overall standings. After six of twelve rounds, our World Champion is eight points behind leading Johan Kristoffersson.

Topi and Reinis also made the semi-final runoffs for the twelve best drivers. However, with fifth and sixth places they had to bury any hopes of making the final. For the first time all three Audi S1 EKS RX quattro competed together in the same semi-final. “I have reached the semi-final in all six rounds this season, but only once the finale,” says Topi deflated. “This is not my goal.” Reinis summarizes similarly: “I had a weekend with several setbacks – a puncture in qualifying 2, Ken Block made a hard move on me in the semi-final and then it’s simply not enough,” analyzed our disappointed Latvian. The campaign continues in Höljes on July 1–2.. The race weekend in Sweden is not only something very special because it is our home race. During the so-called WRX ‘Magic Weekend’ in Höljes Motor Stadium, we also celebrated victory in 2014 and 2015.

FIA World Rallycross Championship 2017 – round 6, Hell – Result Final

1. Johan Kristoffersson (S) 3m 57.461s
2. Andreas Bakkerud (N) +1.947s
3. Sébastien Loeb (F) +3.815s
4. Mattias Ekström (S) +4.267s
5. Timmy Hansen (S) +4.436s
6. Timur Timerzyanov (RUS) +6.414s

Drivers’ standings FIA World Rallycross Championship 2017 (after 6 of 12 races)

1. Johan Kristoffersson (S) 151 points
2. Mattias Ekström (S) 143 points
3. Petter Solberg (N) 134 points
4. Timmy Hansen (S) 102 points
4. Sébastien Loeb (F) 102 points
9. Toomas Heikkinen (FIN) 55 points
11. Reinis Nitišs (LV) 48 points

Team standings FIA World Rallycross Championship 2017 (after 6 of 12 races)

1. PSRX Volkswagen Sweden 285 points
2. Team Peugeot Hansen 204 points
3. EKS 198 points